Passport

I commented to my roommate the other night that it’s been years since I’ve really used my passport (besides to get in and out of Canada a few times, I guess). “That’s no good!” he exclaimed. And he’s right. No good at all! I love to travel, and I love to write about traveling, but my international travels over the past few years have been very minimal. I’m not knocking domestic travel, but there is something about hopping on a plane to another country that I am really yearning for right about now.

Six years ago, I took my first big solo trip to Germany to visit a friend living in Bavaria (with a solo side trip to Paris tacked on the end). It was one of the best things I ever did, in large part because I was pretty scared to do something like that alone (pre-smartphone!), but I did and it was great and it paved the way for things like, say, moving across the country.

Here are some of my favorite photos from the trip:

Burghausen

 

at Hohenschwangau Castle

 

Munich

 

Munich

 

Dachau

 

first evening in Paris

 

Paris

 

(what I mostly did in) Paris

 

Paris

Leave a Reply

