Things I read this week (a little late) – 7/30

Or I should say, this past week-and-a-half.

 

Explaining My Adoption to My Biological Daughter by Nicole Soojung Callahan for The New York Times

I knew this was knowledge she ought to have, given how my adoption has and will continue to affect our lives. But as I watched her frown, unable to hide her worry, I blamed myself for putting that look on her face. I had not thought about how strange or frightening even my simple explanation might sound to her. I don’t think she had ever imagined that a parent might not keep a baby.

“Am I going to be adopted, too?” she asked.

In the interest of full disclosure, I’ve known Nicole online for years – which is not to say I don’t wholeheartedly recommend her writing, because I do. She is able to articulate the nuances of her adoption story in such a lovely way, and has always given me a lot to think about when it comes to families.

 

Why 30 is not the new 20 by Meg Jay for TED Talks

Eighty percent of life’s most defining moments take place by age 35… Whatever it is you want to change about yourself, now is the time to change it.

Not a read, but I couldn’t resist including it. I’m in my late 20s and I wish I had watched this right after college graduation.

 

Snowfallen by Bobbie Johnson for Medium

But snowfalling can’t work for everything. When you add multimedia elements, they have to work for the reader. They have to be in the service of the reading experience. They have to make the story better. Instead, they’re already starting to become the entire point of the experience.

In just a few months, it feels as if they’ve turned into digital equivalent of the Pulitzer Prize contender: carefully crafted with a jury of peers in mind, not the reading public.

I find multimedia journalism fascinating (and I have considered studying it seriously) and loved the examination of this type of storytelling – which I was actually woefully ignorant of, until Edmund posted this piece. I liked the criticism, as well as the links to other Snow Fall-esque pieces.

 

What the …  by Matthew J.X. Malady for Slate

Ellipses, then, would seem to offer something for everyone. If we so desire, they can help carefully structure a bit of written communication so that it mimics some of the more subtle, meaningful elements of face-to-face conversation. But when we want to be lazy, they also allow us to avoid thinking too much while crafting a message.

I’m an ellipses abuser! I have been for ages. I’m not ashamed… that much.

 

How to Lose All The Weight You Want in Just 89 Simple Steps by Dodai Stewart for Jezebel

1. First of all, don’t work out.

2. Or, wait: Exercise. But not too much. If you’re doing intense exercise, then it’s time to exercise less.

3. But this thing called cardio is good.

4. And you should definitely do Zumba!

5. No, actually, you should do interval training.

6. Really, what you should do is exercise for 250-300 minutes a week. That’s four or five hours. And don’t you dare reward yourself with a yummy snack afterward.

Aaahh, too close to home! I laughed.

One thought on “Things I read this week (a little late) – 7/30

Leave a Reply

