​”It’s going to be a good year.”

Aging has never freaked me out that much. I’ll probably be singing a different tune in a couple years, but for now, growing older means more financial security, more premature gray hairs that I cover up with too-expensive salon trips, and slightly creakier joints when I get up from sitting down for a long time. But I still get carded sometimes when I’m buying a bottle of wine, and I feel young enough that my future is wide open. Sure, I don’t have time to, say, go to the Olympics for gymnastics. But I could still take up a new hobby or sport, make new friends and form new relationships, move abroad or closer to home, get a new tattoo, get a kitten… lots of things! The world holds a lot of possibilities.

afterglow

Me realizing there’s a trick candle in my Guinness-and-Bailey’s cake

See, my birthday was last Saturday. And I’m pretty sure I always say that: it’s going to be a good year. And it always is.

Leave a Reply

