the people I have found

I think about relationships a lot; it’s one of my most frequent subjects of analysis and daydreaming, both. Not just eros-driven relationships, but any sort of interpersonal relationship that I’m involved in or observe.

Until recently, I was convinced that I had a hard time making friends. And it is true to some extent – I can get overwhelmed and shy in large group situations, I’m awkward with small talk sometimes, I’m sensitive to potential slights, and I have a hard time going from “acquaintance to chat with” to “close, good friend.” But, really, I don’t have a hard finding people I want to get to know better, and I know what it takes to develop a relationship.

I think that’s one of the best things I’ve learned as an adult: there are so many wonderful, beautiful people in the world. Everywhere you look! It’s amazing! Yes, developing relationships takes a lot of work sometimes, but there’s never a shortage of people.

I spent two weeks out of the past month in Omaha, training some clients on a couple different applications/processes. It’s always interesting to go into another workplace and see how a team interacts. In this case, it’s a procect team I’ve worked with before, off and on, for the past several years; I am still part of a vendor company, but I’ve interacted with these guys long enough to be comefortable with them. And this time around, I was just bowled over by how cool their team is, how much they look out for each other. They aren’t all best friends, but they know each others’ strengths and weaknesses, and seem to genuinely care about each other. It just warmed my heart – I know it sounds cheesy, but it did. It just reinforced my lesson: keep your mind and heart open, and you will find people to love wherever you go.

Required listening:


I thank the Lord for the people I have found…

Leave a Reply

