I Heart Protein

Note: I find myself wanting to post mostly about food/fitness/weight loss stuff these days. I guess old habits die hard.

For the past few days, I’ve been eating a “diet” high in protein, low in fat, and moderate in carbs. And I’m actually feeling… pretty amazing, really.

The funny thing is, I’ve often mocked our American obsession with protein. I’ve had many a chuckle-filled conversation with the vegetarian Becca about how she gets absurd inquiries into her protein sources – my favorite was a former coworker who told her she had “a friend” whose protein deficiency caused the unfortunate symptom of tongue bleeding. Newsflash! You don’t have to eat a ton of meat to get the protein your body needs. Duh.

The only way I can recall ever consciously consuming extra protein, in addition to what I get from my normal diet, was a brief foray into cartons of Muscle Milk Lite after a lifting workout in an attempt to facilitate muscle growth. I don’t know how well it worked, but I didn’t love the taste and developed a possibly-silly fear that the habit would just lead to weight gain if I didn’t lift heavy enough. I dunno.

Aaanyway, despite all this, I’m eating more protein lately. For the first time, I purchased protein powder and have enjoyed a few mid-morning shakes. I’ve been adding eggs to my breakfasts. And I’ve been eating a few ounces of lean protein, a few ounces of day. And I’ve been feeling awesome!

Let’s be real here. A little disclaimer: I haven’t been sticking to this nutrition plan long enough to know if it’s for me, if it makes me feel good long-term, and gets me the results I want (short-term: weight loss). The weather in Spokane has been awesome the past few days, which also could be contributing to (or the cause of) my contented mood and physical well-being. I could be changing my tune in a few days, or a few weeks.

But for now, things seem to be working. I’ve been experimenting with spices and herbs and eating more vegetables than I had been. Again, it’s only been a few days, but I haven’t wanted to dive headfirst into this:

Bread

or this:

candy candy candy CANDY candy

Weeeelllll, maybe the latter. After a few too many glasses of wine the other night I had this awesome $2.50 dessert-in-a-glass… you know like those little shot glass desserts that have gotten trendy in the past few years? It was like that, but bigger, and basically layers of chocolate pudding and crushed chocolate cookies. Pretty incredible.

Okay, maybe the protein hasn’t cured me completely…

Leave a Reply

