Wait

I’ve never been good at waiting.

I mean, I have pretty good self-control; I’ve never been someone who requires instant gratification – at least, I don’t think so. But I get anxious when I have to wait for something, or someone. In the era of smartphones, I’m a little less neurotic about it, because I can either be in touch (I can’t tell you how crazy I would go whenever my mom was late to pick me up during my pre-driving days) or occupy myself while I wait (Slate articles while waiting at the DMV, anyone?). Often I have a book with me, or at least a little notebook I can scribble in, when I have to wait in long lines or waiting rooms.

But what about when you have to wait for an important life event? A move, a job, a relationship change, a birth, a death, an opportunity? These things are a lot more difficult to be patient with, at least for me… you can’t occupy yourself with a crossword puzzle while you’re waiting for your wedding day, really.

One way or another, my life is going to change soon, and I will write about it. In the meantime, I’m trying to be patient. I hate waiting.

Leave a Reply

