On Saturday I finally got to see Food, Inc., a month after I read so many great bloggy reviews of it, with my mom and one of my closest friends. Becca also went to see it later that day with her fiance at the same small, local theater. I don’t think I want to do a comprehensive review of the film, because that’s already been done (and very well), but there are some things that stuck out to me.

  • I’m a meat eater and I’ve never been entirely uninformed about factory farming in America, but the segments about those topics in the movie really struck me this time around. In the grocery store last night, I stood in the meat aisle gazing at package after package of factory farmed meat and it turned my stomach, no kidding. I can’t wait to open up my pound of grass-fed ground beef from a local farm in Colbert that I picked up a couple weeks ago, and I am more motivated than ever to purchase organic meat from Hucklberry’s.
  • Like I referenced above, I’ve always been more or less informed about most of the issues presented in Food, Inc., thanks to having a somewhat hippie-ish mom, family members who were execs at organic food companies, and (obviously) an interest in the topic(s). However, the stuff about Monsanto’s seed patents and prosecution of small farmers? WHAT?! I guess I had some idea of that stuff, but it was a lot different to see individuals affected by it, and just made me enraged.
  • I hesitate to write this, because I know so many bloggers have close ties to Stonyfield Farms, but I honestly was not all that impressed with that portion of the film. It felt contradictory to me – being convinced that the big capitalist monster is responsible for so much wrongdoing, but then being asked to buy into a company that is happily a part of that system. I know that change so often must come from within, but it did make me feel conflicted. When the camera panned across Stonyfield yogurt in the Wal-Mart (as well as when it mentioned that the company had been acquired by Group Danone), all I could think was plastic. So much plastic! That’s probably another movie entirely, but it’s just gotta make you wonder. I hope everyone still had their critical thinking caps on during this segment.
  • In the end, I did feel a satisfying sense of individual empowerment after watching Food, Inc. I just wanted to wander down to my local farmers’ market and pile produce into a cloth bag and feel the sunshine on my face. I felt the urge to dig my hands into the dirt in my organic community garden plot. And most of all I just felt so happy and grateful that I am at a place in my life where I have the resources (education, income, etc.) to make healthy choices. It is such a gift.
Leave a Reply

