Sunday Evening Prep

I try to spend some time on Sunday evenings preparing for the week ahead. I don’t do this nearly as often or as thoroughly as I’d like to! It always helps me to be prepared, though. Guess I shoulda been a Boy Scout.

Here are some of the ways I spent this Sunday evening:

Cooking up wheatberries. I think these bad boys improve a bowl (or Thermos-full) of oatmeal like WHOA! So yummy, nutty, and chewy. They take awhile to cook, though, so it’s nice to simmer up a batch and use them throughout the week.
Espresso! I’m lazy in the morning and not that picky about the quality of my coffee, so I don’t mind making this ahead. Tomorrow, I’ll probably put this over ice and add vanilla extract, sugar, water, and half & half.

Just call me Flylady! I love to have a shiny sink.

In order to avoid sweet temptation this week, I sliced up some cantaloupe and froze it on a cookie sheet. Defrosted a tad bit, it’s one of my favorite summertime desserts.

With my farmer’s market wares I threw together two servings of an asparagus and radish salad, inspired by this recipe. I whipped up a little dressing of olive oil, balsamic vinegar, ginger powder, and sriracha that I’ll pour over this tomorrow morning.

Despite a late lunch, I got hungry, so I dined on an Ezekiel English muffin half topped with spaghetti sauce, fresh mozzarella, and turkey pepperoni.

Then I did THIS! Don’t drop your almond butter on the floor! Luckily I was able to salvage most of it, and I needed to sweep up anyway, so I guess that’s not so bad. But still! My precious!
Leave a Reply

