Can you tell what I ate? The layers, from the bottom up:

  • white corn tortilla
  • Trader Joe’s refried black beans
  • Tillamook pepperjack cheese (top three layers toasted in my oven)
  • peach salsa
  • broccoli slaw
  • avocado
  • papaya (from a jar, sigh)

It was delicious. A small dinner, because when I got home from work I was so hungry and immediately scarfed a tortilla with beans+cheese to get my energy up a little bit. Ugh, I hate when I feel like that. I could swear sometimes I have low blood sugar issues!

The flavors on my taco/tostada concoction were not ones I’d normally put together; I’m trying to get more imaginative with what I put together. I’m not a picky eater (anymore) but I get stuck in ruts a lot when I’m cooking for myself. The best tactic I have for this goal is just staring at what’s in my fridge and thinking, “Could I add that?” Ha! Along with trying new recipes and such. The food bloggers I admire most, off the top of my head, for their interesting flavor combinations in daily eats are Meghann and Kath. Both of those women have provided me with some great ideas.

Good night, all! The week’s almost over!

Leave a Reply

